归化入籍与国籍

美国出生公民

美国宪法对美国境内出生的人赋予美国公民身份。根据法律,如果夫妻双方都是美国公民且一方在子女出生前居住在美国或美属领地,那么其子女出生时便享有美国公民身份。如果夫妻双方一方为美国公民且该公民在子女出生前在美国居住过一定时期,那么其海外出生的子女也享有美国公民身份。

归化入籍

归化入籍是指外籍人员成为美国公民的过程。美国建国以来,国会一直致力于制定恰当的外籍人员入籍政策。外籍人员无法自动获得公民身份,但也不会被强迫申请入籍。国会规定,归化入籍是符合条件的外籍人员享受的特权。

基本要求

归化入籍的主要目的是为了确保民众合一。因此,归化入籍过程会测试申请人是否理解并接受美国的治国纲领,以及是否值得被接纳成为美国的正式成员。

归化入籍仪式

如果申请获批,申请人将参加归化入籍仪式,在仪式上宣誓并领取归化入籍证书。在仪式结束后,申请人可以申请美国护照。

Naturalization and Citizenship

U.S. Citizenship from Birth

The U.S. Constitution confers U.S. citizenship at birth upon persons born within the United States. By statute, American citizenship is also acquired at birth by children born to two American-citizen parents if one of the parents has resided in the United States or one of its outlying possessions prior to the child’s birth. Children born abroad to a U.S. citizen and a non-citizen parent are U.S. citizens if the citizen parent resided in the United States for certain specified periods of time before the child’s birth.

Naturalization

Naturalization refers to the process by which a foreign person may become a United States citizen. Since the United States’ inception, Congress has sought to promote the naturalization of qualified aliens. Although the acquisition of citizenship by resident aliens has never been automatic, neither has any resident alien ever been under compulsion to apply for naturalization. Instead, Congress has established the privilege of naturalization, available only to those who satisfy prescribed requirements.

Basic Requirements

The purpose of having major requirements for naturalization is to ensure identification with the national community. The process of naturalization thus tests whether an applicant understands and adopts our historic principles of government and is worthy to be accepted as a full member of our society.

Naturalization Ceremony

If his or her application is approved, a naturalization applicant will go through a ceremony in which he or she takes an oath and receives a certificate of naturalization. At the end of the ceremony, applications for U.S. passports are typically accepted for processing.