概况

移民过程是接受外国人成为合法永久居民的过程。获得合法永久居民身份最常见的方法有亲属移民职业移民投资移民、获得庇护或难民身份以及抽签移民。还有一种移民方法是移民法官批准“取消遣返程序”。

配额制度

美国法律对每年移民的人数进行了限额。1990年《美国移民归化法案》规定,每年移民配额的人数为70万。这些名额被分配给亲属移民、职业移民以及多元化移民的各类“优先类别”。不受配额限制的移民类别包括美国公民的直系亲属(包括配偶、父母、及未成年未婚子女)、难民或庇护身份以及取消遣返程序的人员。

在配额制度下,各种优先类别的签证数量取决于全球和各国的具体需要,由美国国务院根据复杂的法定公式而计算得出。法律规定了各个国家每年亲属移民、职业移民及多元化移民的配额。现行法律规定,每个国家的亲属移民与职业移民总数不得超过7%(约26,000)。

在配额制度下,截止日期会按月公布在国务院的月度签证公告中。

Overview

Immigration to the United States is the process whereby a person is admitted as a lawful permanent resident (LPR). The most common paths to LPR status are family sponsorship, employment-based immigrationimmigration through investment, asylum or refugee status, and selection in the diversity lottery. Another way to immigrate is through “cancellation of removal,” awarded by an immigration judge in removal proceedings.

Quota System

U.S. law imposes limitations on the number of prospective immigrants who may be admitted annually. The Immigration Act of 1990 established an annual limitation of 700,000 on quota-restricted immigrants. The annual limitation of immigrant visa numbers allotted to applicants worldwide is divided among certain “preference categories” of family-sponsored immigrants, employment-based immigrants, and diversity immigrants. Among the classes of immigrants exempt from this limitation are immediate relatives of U.S. citizens (including spouses, parents, and minor unmarried children), certain persons granted adjustment of status as refugees or asylees, and those under the cancellation-of-removal provisions.

Visa availability for the various preference categories under the quota system is based on worldwide and country-specific demand and determined according to a complex statutory formula administered by the U.S. Department of State. The law establishes “per country” ceilings within the annual allotments for family-sponsored, employment-sponsored, and diversity immigrants, applying the annual limitation to natives of any single foreign state. Current law entitles natives of all foreign states up to 7% (about 26,000) of the visas issued under family-based and employment-based preference categories.

Monthly cut-off dates under the quota system are published in the State Department Visa Bulletin.