常见问题

问:EB-5投资移民申请的周期有多长?

答:EB-5投资移民在没有配额限制的条件下, 通常来说需要4到5年的时间,包括以下步骤:

  1. 甄选并雇佣优秀且具有丰富经验的移民律师。
  • 依据本州律师条例,律师需要披露其代理范围以及任何实际或潜在的利益冲突。大多数州的律师协会都会公布本州执照律师的相关信息,包括从业年限以及个人处分记录。 (详见http://members.calbar.ca.gov/fal/MemberSearch/QuickSearch)。
  1. 选择投资项目
  • 90%以上的EB-5投资移民是投资于一个由指定的地区中心开发或募集的项目。
  1. 在移民律师的指导下,提供文件并实施申请策略,对合法资金来源进行记录和追踪。
  • 该过程的复杂程度取决于商业及财务记录的获取难度以及投资者及其国家的特定因素。
  1. 准备并向美国公民与移民服务局提交I-526申请
  • 由于受到一系列因素的影响,美国公民与移民服务局的审理时间不确定,从几个月到一年不等。影响因素包括移民官职级、案件复杂度、申请材料的完整性及充分性。
  1. 当“优先日期”(I-526申请归档日期)有可用签证名额时,在母国的美国大使馆或领事馆申请移民签证,或者在美国境内进行身份调整。
  • 由于中国投资者对EB-5签证有大量需求,签证名额问题仅对中国申请人构成限制。
  • 只有在美国有合法非移民身份的申请人可以在美国境内调整身份,其他人必须在母国或原住地进行面签。
  1. 获得有效期为两年的有条件居留权
  • EB-5投资者将获得有效期为两年的有条件居留权。在此期间,投资者需要在美国永久居住并维持其在EB-5企业中的移民投资。

  1. 准备和提交I-829“去除绿卡条件申请”。
  • I-829申请要求美国公民与移民服务局判定投资者是否在有条件居留期内维持其投资,以及EB-5企业是否为满足条件的美国工人创造了足够的就业机会。

 EB-5-Timeline-Chart_Chinese

问:我应该如何证明我的资金有合法来源?

答:EB-5条例8 CFR § 204.6(j)规定:

为表明申请人已经完成投资或正在积极参与投资,申请时应提交证明资金合法来源的材料:
(1)外国企业登记记录;
(2)过去五年内股份公司、合伙企业(或其他任何形式的向国家或地区纳税的实体)以及个人的报税记录,包括收入、特许经销权、财产(不动产、个人财产或无形资产),以及在美国境内外对申请人有管辖权地区的其他任何报税记录;
(3)其他资金来源证明;或
(4) 过去15年内美国境内外与申请人相关的民事或刑事诉讼、政府行政诉讼及私人民事诉讼(尚在进行或以结案)的经济判决的副本公证件。

在实践中,为了证明资金的合法来源,通常需要对投资资金进行深入调查,从而决定需要提交的证明文件。在这个阶段,律师在I-526申请准备及提交方面的经验至关重要。因为在文件选择和整理过程中的疏忽会对申请审批造成不必要的延迟,甚至是拒绝申请。

问:自投项目和地区中心投资项目有何区别?

答:主要区别在于:非地区中心投资项目只能计算投资项目的直接就业岗位,而地区中心投资项目不仅可以计算“直接”就业岗位,还可以通过经济学方法计算因资本投资而间接创造的就业岗位。

另外一个重要的区别是:地区中心可以向美国公民与移民服务局提交模板申请(I-924),要求提前批准某项目。若该申请获得批准,当美国公民与移民服务局对该地区中心所有投资者的I-526申请进行审批时,裁定结果将与其一致。若模板申请的关键因素没有重大变化,则意味着投资者申请的“与项目相关的移民风险”较低。

问:如果我投资的EB-5公司破产了怎么办?

答:移民法要求EB-5投资者在有条件居留期间维持其投资并证明其投资已经创造了足够的就业岗位。如果投资者投资的EB-5企业被破产清算,且该企业在I-829 “去除绿卡条件申请”被批准前便不复存在或不再运作,那么投资者很可能无法证明其能按要求维持投资或创造就业,最终导致I-829申请被驳回。在这种情况下,美国公民与移民服务局期望投资者能够进行新的移民投资并提交新的I-526申请,重新开始投资移民过程。但是,如果在投资者重新提交I-526时,其子女已经年满21周岁,那么子女将无法和投资者同时移民。

问:如果I-829申请被驳回怎么办?

答:如果EB-5投资者的I-829申请被美国公民与移民服务局驳回,投资者可以要求移民法官在遣返程序中对申请进行再次审理。如果移民法官对I-829申请做出驳回判决并要求投资者离境,投资者可以向联邦法庭进行上诉。I-829申请被驳回后,投资者也可以开始一项新的投资,提交新的I-526申请并在新I-526申请获批后重新获得有条件居留权。值得注意的是,如果投资的企业失败,而且在投资者重新提交I-526时,其子女已经年满21周岁,那么子女将无法和投资者同时移民。

问:配额限制对EB-5中国投资者有什么影响?

答:2015年春季或夏季某个时间开始,虽然中国EB-5申请人仍有权提交他们的I-526申请,并获得美国公民与移民服务局的审理,然而,I-526获批后,中国申请人必须等到有可用的签证名额时才可以在美国境内提交身份调整申请或在美国领事馆进行面签。中国申请人的配额限制会将美国公民与移民服务局的裁定时间整体延长1到2年的时间。随着时间的推移以及中国申请人对EB-5签证的大量需求,等待时间可能会继续延长。

Common Questions

Q: How long does the EB-5 process take?

A: Absent the impact of quota restrictions, immigrating under the EB-5 provisions is typically a 4-to-5-year process that includes the following steps:

1. Selecting and retaining a competent immigration attorney

  • Attorneys are required under state bar rules to disclose the scope of their representation and any actual or potential conflicts of interest. Most state bar associations publish reliable information concerning attorneys licensed to practice in a particular state, including years of practice and any public record of discipline concerning an attorney (see, e.g., http://members.calbar.ca.gov/fal/MemberSearch/QuickSearch).

2. Selecting a project in which to invest 

  • Over 90% of EB-5 immigrants invest in a project developed by or offered under the auspices of a designated regional center.
  1. Working with the immigration attorney to provide, develop, and implement a strategy for documenting lawful source of funds and tracing of these funds 
  • The level of complexity of this process varies considerably, depending on business- and financial-record-keeping practices and other factors specific to the investor and the investor’s country of origin.
  1. Preparing and filing an I-526 petition with USCIS
  • USCIS processing times vary considerably over time and can range from several months to over one year depending on a range of factors, including staffing levels, case complexity, and the completeness and sufficiency of the documentation submitted with the petition.
  1. Processing an application for an immigrant visa through the U.S. Embassy or Consulate in your home country or adjusting status in the United States when a visa is available to persons with your “priority date” (date of filing of I-526 petition)
  • Due to the high demand for EB-5 visas on the part of Chinese applicants, visa availability is only an issue for investors born in China.
  • Only applicants in lawful nonimmigrant status in the United States are eligible to adjust status in the United States. All others must attend a visa interview in their country of citizenship or residence.
  1. Completing a two-year period of conditional residence
  • EB-5 immigrants are admitted to the U.S. as conditional residents for a period of two years, during which time the investor is required to establish a permanent residence in the United States and maintain his or her qualifying investment in the EB-5 enterprise.
  1. Preparing, filing, and awaiting adjudication of an I-829, Petition to Remove Conditions on Residence 
  • To approve an I-829 petition, USCIS must determine that an investor has maintained his or her investment throughout the period of conditional residence and that the EB-5 enterprise has created the required jobs for qualified U.S. workers. 
EB-5-Timeline-Chart-01

Q: How can I show that my funds come from a lawful source?

A: The applicable EB-5 regulations at 8 CFR § 204.6(j) state:

To show that the petitioner has invested, or is actively in the process of investing, capital obtained through lawful means, the petition must be accompanied, as applicable, by:

  1. Foreign business registration records;
  2. Corporate, partnership (or any other entity in any form which has filed in any country or subdivision thereof any return described in this subpart), and personal tax returns including income, franchise, property (whether real, personal, or intangible), or any other tax returns of any kind filed within five years, with any taxing jurisdiction in or outside the United States by or on behalf of the petitioner;
  3. Evidence identifying any other source(s) of capital; or
  4. Certified copies of any judgments or evidence of all pending governmental civil or criminal actions, governmental administrative proceedings, and any private civil actions (pending or otherwise) involving monetary judgments against the petitioner from any court in or outside the United States within the past fifteen years

In practice, documenting a lawful source of funds often requires an in-depth analysis of the specific source of funds in order to determine what kinds of documents will be needed. The assistance of an immigration attorney experienced in the preparation and filing of I-526 petitions is critical at this stage of the petition as missteps in determining and documenting the lawful source of funds can result in unnecessary delays in adjudication and even petition denial.

Q: What’s the difference between investing in a “standalone” project and a regional center?

A: The principal difference is that investors in “standalone” projects may only take credit for direct job creation, that is, employees hired directly by the company in which the immigrant invests. Investors in regional center projects, however, may count direct jobs as well as indirect jobs that can be shown by reasonable economic methodologies to have been created by the investment. 

Another distinguishing factor is that a regional center may file an exemplar petition (Form I-924) with USCIS to request pre-approval of a particular investment project, which, if granted, will normally be given deference when the I-526 petitions of all investors in that project are adjudicated. Assuming the absence of material changes in key factors adjudicated with the exemplar adjudication, exemplar approval often equates to less project-related immigration risk for investors.

Q: What happens if the EB-5 company in which I invest goes bankrupt?

A: An EB-5 investor is required to maintain his or her investment throughout the period of conditional residence and to prove that the investment created the required number of qualifying jobs for U.S. workers. If the EB-5 enterprise is liquidated in bankruptcy proceedings and ceases to exist or do business before an investor’s I-829 petition is approved, the investor will be unable to show the required maintenance of his or her investment or the necessary job creation. USCIS adjudication guidelines anticipate that investors in this situation may be able to make a new qualifying investment and file a new I-526 petition to restart the immigration process. Any son or daughter of the investor who is over 21 years old at the time of filing the new I-526 petition, however, would not be eligible to immigrate with his or her investor parent.

Q: What happens if my I-829 petition is denied?

A: An EB-5 immigrant whose I-829 petition is denied by USCIS may seek a re-adjudication of the petition before an immigration judge in removal proceedings. A decision by a judge to deny the I-829 petition and order the investor removed from the United States may be reviewed in federal court. Alternatively, an EB-5 immigrant whose I-829 has been denied may seek to make a new qualifying investment, file a new I-526 petition, and become a conditional resident based upon approval of the new I-526 petition. It is important to note that, as in the case of an investment in a failed business, sons and daughters who initially immigrated with the family and are over 21 years old at the time of the filing of a new I-526 petition will no longer be eligible to immigrate as family dependents.

Q: What will be the impact of quota restrictions on EB-5 immigrants from China?

A: China-born EB-5 applicants will still be able to file their I-526 petitions, and USCIS will adjudicate those petitions. Beginning sometime in the spring or summer of 2015, however, EB-5 applicants born in China will need to wait for their priority date (I-526 filing date) to become current under the quota system before they will be able to obtain visas or adjust to conditional resident status. Depending on adjudication times at USCIS, the impact of the China quota may initially add one to two years overall to the EB-5 immigration process. Over time, however, and with continued strong demand for EB-5 visas by Chinese applicants, these wait times may be expected to lengthen.