基本项目/自投项目

自投项目的EB-5投资者可选择向非地区中心发起或运营的项目进行投资。

创造就业岗位

自投项目的投资必须在投资者移民到美国后两年内为美国工人创造至少十个直接全职就业岗位。间接就业岗位,包括独立承包商的就业岗位,不算在内。如果提交I-526申请表时还没有创造十个就业岗位,那么就需要附加一份全面的商业计划,表明将在两年内雇用十名符合要求的员工。

投资者也可以通过向“亏损企业”投资来满足创造就业的要求,保留或创造至少10个全职工作,且维持两年内员工人数不低于投资前的人数。“亏损企业”应至少存在两年,且净亏损至少为企业净值的20%。

投资金额

自投项目的最低投资金额和地区中心项目的投资金额要求相同。项目如果位于目标就业区(“TEA”),那么最低投资金额为500,000美元;如果位于非目标就业区,最低投资金额为1,000,000美元。

投资者的管理职责

在自投项目和地区中心项目的投资活动中,投资者都将参与管理新的商业企业,可以是负责日常管理,也可以是制定政策(而不是完全被动的角色)。根据美国公民及移民服务局的规定,如果投资者是公司管理人员或董事,或是合伙企业的享有正常权利和义务的有限合伙人,那么投资者就可以被认为是在新的商业企业中参与管理。

Basic Program or \”Standalone\” Investments

Under the basic EB-5 program, which predates the Pilot Program, an EB-5 investor may choose to invest in an enterprise that is not doing business as or operating under the auspices of a designated regional center.

Employment Creation

An investment in a standalone project must create at least ten new full-time positions for directly employed U.S. workers within two years of the investor’s immigration to the United States. For standalone investors, indirect jobs, including the jobs of independent contractors, may not be counted. If the ten employees have not been hired at the time of filing the I-526 petition, the petition must be accompanied by a comprehensive business plan showing that ten qualified employees will be hired within two years.

The job creation requirement may also be satisfied through an investment in a “troubled business” that results in saving or creating at least 10 full-time jobs for U.S. workers and the retention of jobs for at least two years at a level no less than the number of employees prior to the investment. A “troubled business” is one that has been in existence for at least two years and has had a net loss of at least 20% of the business’s net worth.

Investment Amount

The minimum investment amount for a standalone project is determined in the same manner as for an investment in a regional center project – $500,000 where the job creating enterprise is primarily doing business in a “targeted employment area” (“TEA”) and $1,000,000 for non-TEA investments.

Management Role of the Investor

In both standalone and regional center investments, it must be shown that the investor will be engaged in the management of the new commercial enterprise, either through the exercise of day-to-day managerial control or through policy formulation (as opposed to maintaining a purely passive role). Under USCIS regulations, if the investor is a corporate officer or director or a limited partner in a partnership that provides the investor with rights, powers, and duties normally granted to limited partners, he or she will be considered sufficiently engaged in the management of the new commercial enterprise.